Tea Tree Oil & Toenail Fungus (don’t read if you’re grossed out by stuff like this)

I know this is kind of weird but back in the early/mid 1990s I went to Australia and toured the country for a month. Back then tea tree oil was unheard of here in the States. I bought some, unsure of what to do with it, there was only a mysterious bit of information I was given by an Aussie that it was an indigenous cure for different skin troubles.

After experimenting with it now for almost 15 years I’ve found it does some pretty remarkable things. Because it is an oil it penetrates deep into the skin tissues and cells and kills all the bad stuff on a cellular level.

I am prone to skin infections actually once had cellulitis which is an infection of the skin cells which can kill you. I was on antibiotics for several months after IV antibiotics. I was on so many antibiotics that I ended up in the hospital with an infection in my intestine because the antibiotics had killed all the good stuff and left me raw. I ended up having to have more antibiotics. Let me tell you that was one of the most painful things I’ve ever experienced and my back has been fractured, I’ve had a baby, have horrible migraines where I want to blow my head off, kidney stones and herniated a disc and slipped one as well, and this pain was so bad I was passing out from it. It was intense. (I’m fond of blaming my deceased old Ashkenazi Jew dad for his ancient sperm because I was born an old woman with all kinds of ridiculous health problems. The Ashkenazi are not super healthy people as it turns out my dad died at 63 which was pretty average for his other 9 brothers and sisters.) But anyway, enough of my asides, when I would notice an infection brewing in my skin I began applying tea tree oil to it and low and behold, after several days of dowsing myself with it, the infection would go away.

So last summer I was having more back trouble and my husband insisted I go have a message. I’m not found of them unless the person giving them is very clear and focused or I pick up all kinds of stuff about the person and its very unnerving and distracting. Well, I made the mistake of soaking in the hot tub and taking a shower (wearing special shoes because of course I was paranoid this would happen and you’ll see it did). And of course I developed some weird fungus on my toenail shortly thereafter. 

My doctor would not give me the normal Lamisil or whatever it is that a doctor gives people with fungus’ growing on their toe nails, because it’s hard on the liver and I’m taking way too many drugs to control my seizures and brain problems (as I’m sure all of you can tell.) So my toe was getting pretty crazy when I had the idea to try tea tree oil. Well, I did and it actually seems to be curing the fungus. It went from black to clear, then I could actually cut off the fungus part which had previously been like a piece of steel and now was like a relatively normal, but very thick toe nail. 

Moral of the story. For those of you who don’t have health insurance or don’t like western drugs, try tea tree oil. Dowse your toe in it or infection, cover it with gauze or cotton, wrap it in medical tape. Continue to do that at least once a day before bedtime, twice is best but once works pretty well too for at least 3-7 days. You will see remarkable results. 

Just a weird random tip. I think it is actually good for acne as well, but I haven’t tried it for that.

Best wishes and many blessings,

Denise

14 responses to “Tea Tree Oil & Toenail Fungus (don’t read if you’re grossed out by stuff like this)

  1. Tea tree oil is really a wonder drug; I’m never without it. Being uninsured, my bathroom resembles a health food store …. vitamins, minerals, herbs, oils … you name it, it’s here. Feverfew to prevent migraines. Milk thistle to protect the liver. B complex for nerves. Lysine to fight colds. And on and on. Yep, I’m a believer!

  2. Unfortunately, I have been prone to fungal infections since I was a child. I read that plain old fashioned Listerine (or it’s much cheaper off brand versions) works well on nail infections. Just soak your feet once a day for ten minutes in Listerine for a few months and the infection will clear up. It took the yellowness right out of my nails. It also cures athelete’s foot. I used to know why it works, but I have forgotten. Peda
    iatrists also reccommend this home treatment for foot fungal infections. That’s where I found it on the net a couple of years ago when I was looking for a safe way to treat nail infections while pregnant.

    You’ll want to use the plain Listerine not the flavored ones. The flavored ones contain sugar. Fungal infections are basically yeast and you don’t want to give yeast sugar since that’s what it eats.

    Also, it is not tres’ chek, but wear socks with sandals. I know people think you are nerd city this way, but those are people with stinky and possibly infected feet. The sock disapates the sweat from your feet keeping them drier when you walk. If you walk around barefoot (which you may not want to do if you have a foot infection and don’t want to share it) or wear socks with your sandals, your feet will dry out and heal faster.

    Yes, I have spent years with this exact problem too and at last, I have healthy feet. Feet infections are easy to get and hard to get rid of. Good luck in your pursuit of better foot health!

  3. Hi Denise,

    Golden Seal in liquid form is also very good. It is anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, antiseptic. Golden seal is a herb that you can buy from health food shops or herbalists. It can be expensive but it lasts a long time. You can also have it internally. I treat myself and my horses (one has a brain tumor – cushings syndrome) with herbs, Aussie Bush Flower Essences and Bowen therapy.

    All the best
    Carol

  4. oil of oregano is another excelent anti-bacterial Herbal choice.It does all the things that tea tree oil does and so much more.For burns if you use it right away you will not even have a scar.It is by far the best choice for burns.

  5. I am glad you’ve discovered the benefits of tea tree oil. It is a great antiseptic as well as fungicide. I’ve written an article about it http://www.skin-care-recipes-and-remedies.com/tea-tree-oil-use.html

  6. Very good article about nail fungus. You are in my RSS reader now and I can see that you also have a lot of other articles that are very good…

  7. Good ideas on tea tree oil and fungal infections.
    Pat

  8. Wow..nice experience in treating nail fungus. Tea tree oil is really effective in curing nail fungus because it has antifungal properties.
    Tea tree oil has also proved medically can be used to treat nail fungus.

  9. this is a nice post.. worth reading and informative..

  10. I just read tea tree oil is poisonous to cats and dogs so don’t use this remedy, plant or oil for your pets without doing some research and talking to a vet.

  11. Hi there, simply turned into aware of your weblog
    thru Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna be careful for brussels.

    I will be grateful in the event you proceed this in
    future. Numerous people will probably be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!

  12. What are the most common fungal infections? There are several classes of fungal infections and each one can possibly be treated using a tea tree oil antifungal treatment. Have your say about what you just read!

  13. Dear Denise

    Being a Pisces, I have trouble with my feet. I agree with you that Tea Tree Oil is the best thing around to treat fungal infections. If people knew more about natural remedies, Big Pharma would probably go out of business!

    Best wishes from Simon

  14. Carol A. Wulson

    Tea Tree oil is very good for all kinds of infection, especially fungus in the toenails, It is the second day I am using it and I can see some results. It is good for all skin infections.

Leave a Reply

