A Migraine Poll…

Sorry I couldn’t post today I had a horrible migraine.

I actually suffer from a rare form of migraine called hemiplegic migraine (in Denmark where it is most common it’s 1 in 10,000 people, here in the states there are no figures I could find.) I go blind, often vomit, have seizures, am in intense level 10 pain, sometimes become paralyzed on one side of my body, have unexplained fevers, have ataxia and the inability to put a sentence together. It really sucks.

I was wondering if any of you out there, among my fellow sensitives have suffered from migraines. A friend asked me to do a poll out of curiosity.

Please leave a post if you are both a psychic and or sensitive and suffer from the disease. I never thought of there being a correlation until she brought it up. But it would be interesting to see if there is a correlation.

A Migraine Poll…

15 thoughts on “A Migraine Poll…

  1. Wyntyr says:

    Hi Denise,
    While I do not know of any sensitives or psychics that suffer from this ‘exact’ condition, a majority of them do suffer from recurring health conditions (extreme fatigue, exhaustion, anxiety, headaches, etc.). Have you tried aura-soma, color therapy or reikki sessions? I am a huge believer in new-age (homeopathic) remedies especially for those that work with ‘energy’ quite a bit. 🙂 They can offer amazing results. 🙂 I sincerely hope that you feel better. And, thank you for your generosity on this site! Hugs, Wyntyr 🙂

  2. Farah says:

    Hi Denise,

    I have had migraines like you speak about, and I do think I am somewhat psychic. But the migraines were a symptom of Lyme Disease. They have improved as my Lyme Disease has improved. I used aromatherapy, herbs, and core synchronism (a type of cranialsacral work) I am much better now. I don’t know if you feel as if your skull is too small for your brain at times like that, but that is how it was for me, and it is true, the intercranial pressure builds and causes a feeling like a bomb is going off in your head. But I don’t get that anymore with treatment, just a feeling like the muscles on my scalp are tightening, and then I treat myself and prevent the episode.

    I had a lot of neurological symptoms with the migraines, too, or soon after them, but that has cleared up with treatment as well.

    Farah

  3. zoma777 says:

    Thanks for the comments. I know it’s informal but the more of you who have info on this the better. Thank you! Best wishes!

  4. amandria says:

    I don’t know if I am psychic but I do suffer from Migraines, they are getting better as I get older, in fact I often get the vision issues, somehow calm myself down, and stop it in its tracks. When I was younger it was blindness and pain…For me its almost miraculous that somehow I can calm down and it will stop, this is only during the vision issues phase, if I can’t stop it there I am fine, if not then the pain still isn’t as bad as it was when I was younger. Weird thing is when younger I sucked everything up, now I am likely to let ya have it.

  5. Grace says:

    My husband’s grandmother and mother are both very psychic and both suffer (or in the case Ganny suffered since she is deceased) from migraines. Granny got especially ill from them and often spent several days at a time in bed with them.

    My dh is also psychic and suffers from migraines and neurological problems. So maybe there is a connection.

  6. zoma777 says:

    Hi Wyntyr,
    I have tried Aura Soma and it’s really amazing. I love it. I’ve found it to be particularly helpful during times of extreme stress. Thanks for the tip and bringing this up.

  7. Dee says:

    I came across your website the other day. My son suffers from Hemiplegic Migraines,
    sporadic, not familial. He is 20 years old born 6/28/88 and has had them since he was very young. He gets an Aura first, (his warning sign) and knows it will start in 15 to 25 minutes. He knows he needs to find help quickly, from that point forward he has the same symptoms as you describe. He can not walk or talk and is in terrible pain, and one side of his body does not function and he suffers from light sensitivity and extreme vomiting. They have never said it was a seizure. I always bring him to the emergency room, to help him with the extreme pain. He has been checked for lymes disease, and does not have it. He has had many EEG’s, CAT scans and MRI’s and they always say they are normal. They have never done an MRI during one of these migraines. The Migraines do not happen often, but he has had them years apart. Some have fallen on the same exact day years later. I have taken him to many Doctors and the last one was in NY at Columbia University. I keep a journal of all of his dates he has had migraines, and how he reacts and the different ways the Doctors have treated him.
    The Doctor in NY seemed to know more than anyone I have ever taken him to. I am interested to know, which Doctor’s you have seen and what type of medication they have suggested?
    My son is not on any medications for migraines. I can understand how much both of you suffer; I have always looked for someone with the same symptoms, but as you know this is very rare. I would like to ask you some other questions related to this, could you email me so we could discuss this further. I hope we can help each other. My son does not show any psychic abilities at this time. I have always been interested in astrology, that is how I came across your website. I hope to hear from you.

  8. zoma777 says:

    Hi Dee,
    I have also had MRI’s that were “normal” a bunch of them, but just recently something did turn up on one. I would be diligent about getting a bunch of opinions. I have found no one that has actually treated someone with hemiplegic migraine. The doctors I’ve seen have all read about it, but have had no real world experience with it because of its rarity.

    I take a cocktail of drugs to keep the symptoms at bay, a drug for seizures, a calcium channel blocker that helps me not go blind and pain medicine when I have the horrible level 10 pain.

    I was taking relpax and imitrex before they diagnosed me as hemiplegic (although they probably should have), but was taken off these drugs as they can cause severe problems, highly increasing a persons risk of stroke.

    My migraines got much worse after I got pregnant, probably due to hormones and because I could no longer take relpax or imitrex. they’ve continued to be really bad since I had the baby. This is probably partially due to the tremendous stress my body was put under (a whole other story) .

    This disease is horrible. And so little is really known about it due to its rarity. One thing to watch for besides stroke is coma. I was told a bad migraine could land a hemiplegic into one, so its really important to keep trying to find something that works for him.

    When I was younger and first diagnosed with migraine (not hemiplegic at the time) the doctors weren’t that good about dolling out medicine. One of my current physicians suggested taking a baby aspirin every day to help with the risk of stroke.

    I feel for you and your son. If I get any more information I can pass on to you, I will.

    Best wishes,
    Denise

    From A Migraine Poll…, 2008/10/08 at 11:38 PM

  9. Dee says:

    Thank you for your comments. My son’s doctor gave him a regiment to have administered when he is in the emergency room . He mentioned the 81 mg aspirin daily, and considered Verapamil but decided to wait for now. His researched showed that Topamax was not to be given for hemiplegic migraines.

    He has not had an attack since 2/20/06 . He can go a few years, but they are getting more intense as he ages. I should get him scheduled for an MRI, it has been a few years.

    February seems to be the worst month, between the 14- 20th. I was wondering if you had a bad fall or head truma when you were younger? And by any chance do you have extremely dry skin from birth? I just wanted to know if they could be linked to it some how.

    I hope in the near future the Doctors will be able to treat Hemiplegic migraines. I am always looking for New Doctors who are researching at headache centers or Universities as well as any links on the web. If I come across anything, I will keep you in my favorites and pass it on to you as well.

    I find your website very interesting. Do you make appearances? We live in New Jersey, and I was hoping to meet you someday.

    Thank you for your kindness, may the future bring you the very best..
    Dee

  10. zoma777 says:

    Hi Dee,
    Ironically this is also my mom’s name. I did not suffer head trauma that I know of as a child. I did however have many neurological symptoms like sleep walking and talking in the extreme. And bizarre fevers. I wish you and your son well. Since I first posted this I have talked with other people who have hemiplegic migraines, both other cases were men. One of them told me that he uses marijuana and it works very well for him and he hasn’t had an attack in nearly 7 years since he began using this drug which is legal here in CA. He doesn’t get high, he just uses a small dose that he eats to keep from getting attacks. I hope this helps you.
    Best to you,
    Denise

  11. I have shown some psychic abilities. I’ve been having migraine since my high school days; i’m now pursuing a phd degree. Mine strikes for about twice a year. It is getting more intense as i get older. Drugs are not so effective. I wish to get some advice here. Thanks.

  12. Karen says:

    I’ve been diagnosed with migraines since I was 9. They leveled off in my early teens and early 20’s but came back with a rage in my 30’s and I usually have 3 or more a week now and just turned 40. (I did have head trauma in a wreck) Mine are brought on by light…I walk around now with dark shades on around the clock day and night and I’m sure look like a freak.

    I am sensative to what I believe to be ghosts or spirits. I can walk into a building and feel them, I’ve only seen 1 my whole life and don’t understand why I’ve only seen the one unless it’s because it terrified me! I can go into a used furniture store and feel attachments and maybe see them in my mind but not my eyes. Weird I know but was curious if it was a side effect to these awful headaches….i don’t know…..just curious.

  13. Hey there!!
    And a BIG FAT MASSIVE SNAP!!
    Your symptoms are exactly the same as mine, though I haven’t suffered with the paralysis side of migraine since pregnancy.
    I started getting migraine when I was 10, and the attacks in the early days were of such severity that I had to go for brain scans to ensure I didn’t have any tumours on the brain.
    I still get the extreme pain, nausea, blindness, extreme sensitivity to noise and light and often stimuli that isn’t the regular, migraine causing type.
    I also suffer with anxiety and depression as a result of the debilitating nature of the attacks. They can often last for 2-3 weeks, especially when I’m in the midst of depression because I can’t go out, or even clean up!

    I’m so glad I stumbled upon you, here, whilst googling migraine.
    =)

Leave a Reply

