Update on Cori Desmond

Just wanted everyone to know that the young woman Cori Desmond who was murdered back at the start of this year has been tirelessly working on the other side to catch her killer. It may sound strange, but she is a very strong spirit and I am convinced she made it her mission to make sure her killer was caught.

A friend of mine who works at a news outlet in the Inland Empire sent me the press release. They have arrested the man suspected of murdering her. Here is the release:

DATE/TIME: February 16, 2009 / 2:24 p.m. UPDATE October 9, 2009

INCIDENT: Murder Investigation

LOCATION: Highway 330 near mile marker 38, lower Running Springs

SUSPECT: Tony Lopez Perez, 35 (D.O.B:08/11/74), Redondo Beach

VICTIM(S): Cori Daye Desmond, 28 years of age (D.O.B:03/18/80), resident of Torrance

SUMMARY:

UPDATE:

Cori Daye Desmond was last seen in the early morning hours of February 16, 2009 near Artesia Bl. and Slauson (Bogey’s Bar) in Redondo Beach.  Cori’s body was discovered in the afternoon of February 16th in a remote area of the San Bernardino mountains.

Since then, Sheriff’s Homicide Investigators have interviewed hundreds of people and served several search warrants, including 50 tips from anonymous sources through WeTip.  One of the anonymous sources gave Investigators the name of Tony Lopez Perez.  The information was vague and then the caller contacted the Investigators again and provided additional information.  Investigators identified Perez’s vehicle and determined that he sold his Dodge Durango and purchased a new vehicle.  They located the Dodge Durango and obtained a search warrant to look for any possible evidence.  Physical evidence was recovered and processed at the Sheriff’s Scientific Investigation Division.

On Thursday, October 8, 2009 Investigators contacted Perez at his home.  Perez agreed to meet with Investigators at Sheriff’s Headquarters that morning.  Perez was interviewed and at the conclusion of the interview he was arrested and booked at Central Detention Center for Murder.  He is being held without bail.

Investigators believe that this case would have likely remained unsolved if not for the assistance from the media and the public.

______________________________________________________________________________________

Case Summary:

On February 16, 2009, at about 2:24 p.m., the reporting party pulled into a turn out located on the west side of Highway 330 near mile marker 38.  The turn out is about the 5000’ elevation and is considered to be the lower area of Running Springs.  The reporting party looked over a mound of dirt and saw what he believed to be a human foot protruding from a bag.

The reporting party contacted a Cal Trans employee and a California Highway Patrol Officer who was in the area checking vehicles for snow chains.  The CHP Officer verified the remains were in fact human and contacted the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Twin Peaks Station.

The Homicide Detail was requested by the Twin Peaks Station to assist in the investigation.   The body was determined to be a female and was transported to the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Coroner Division.  Positive identification has been made, although the next of kin has not been contacted at this time.  An Autopsy will be conducted to determine the cause of death.

The victim has been identified as Cori Daye Desmond, 28 years of age a resident of Torrance.  The victim’s vehicle a 1998 Jeep Wrangler Ca. license 4AQM779 was located in Redondo Beach.

There are currently no suspects in custody and investigators are asking for the public’s assistance in identifying the person or persons responsible for Desmond’s death.  Anyone with information is asked to contact Sergeant Tony De Cecio or Detective Trevis Newport at 909-387-3589.  Those wishing to remain anonymous may contact We Tip at 1-800-78- CRIME (27463).

ROD HOOPS, Sheriff-Coroner

San Bernardino County Sheriff-Coroner Department

I just want to extend my thanks to the police for their great work and my sympathy to the Desmond family. I personally feel a huge burden off my shoulders. I am so happy they have made an arrest.

Best wishes to all you kind people,

Denise

Update on Cori Desmond

4 thoughts on “Update on Cori Desmond

  1. Andi says:

    Hello,
    I’m writing to you because I’m genuinely freaked out. My real name isn’t Andi. I don’t feel comfortable posting my real name. I made a prediction that the man who killed her was ex military. You can read it in the last blog you posted about Cori. I will say that I went to the same high school as her and felt particularily connected to her case. Well, I don’t claim to be psychic at all, but I was right. The man who killed her was ex military and hispanic. I don’t know if you’re a real psychic, but I need to talk to someone about this. I kept getting this overwhelming feeling that I knew he was military and that he came back to the United States and was upset because he wasn’t given the respect he got being in the military. It turns out he was an ex marine. Anyhow, I’m really freaked out. How would I know this? Why do I know this? I kept hearing a song over and over again that I believe was connected to this case as well. Do you have any advice for me. I don’t think I made a guess about the killer. I was sure I knew who it was but I couldn’t draw a photo of him or describe him physically, and I didn’t think i could go to authorities with what I knew. This info didn’t come to me in a dream, or vision. It was a hardcore feeling that I couldn’t shake, and a song that cryptically gave me info. I know this sounds ridiculous. I feel idiotic writing about it. Please read my post from May and then see the military photos of the culprit. They absolutely have the right person. Do you think that Cori was somehow speaking to me in her own way? We went to high school together and had mutual friends. I didn’t know her but I felt strangely very connected to her and her story. Right after the case I would cry uncontrollably for no reason at all. I kept hearing the same song over and over again, and something inside of me was telling me to listen to the song. Not just the melody, but the lyrics. I went to a website and read the lyrics, and boom, I knew about him and who he was. I was highly sensitive as a child, but I have never been this dead on about a case. I need to speak to someone about this because I am scared. Is this going to happen to me again? I couldn’t figure out why I kept hearing this same song over and over again, or why I was drawn so closely to this particular case. Like everyone else in the south bay I was saddened to hear about her death, but I didn’t know any of the details, or much about Cori. I might have more stuff that could be useful. I don’t know. Do police take stuff like this seriously?

    1. Cori's friend says:

      This man was not in the military. He lied about that, being an ex-sherriff and a lot of other things, so you can rest easy.

  2. debbie desmond says:

    i am cori’s mother, I just wanted to say thank you to every one who’s life has been changed by all this and who have supported all the help to bring my daughters murrderer to justice

Leave a Reply

