Owl Medicine…

I wasn’t that surprised to see the results of the owl poll. It seems that those who read this blog (the vast majority) have what Native American’s would call Owl Medicine.  It’s interesting that both in the 1970s and again for the past few years owls have become very popular. There are all sorts of representations of them in statuary, toys, fabric patterns, on journals. You name it owls are everywhere. Depending on the culture owls are either assigned an ominous place in the symbolic pantheon or more wisely seen as the messengers they truly are.
I’ve found Owl Medicine related to clairvoyance, the ability to see through things and penetrate the darkness with one’s insight. Those with Owl Medicine are often psychic and/or extremely intuitive. They have an intense gaze, deep understanding and insight into situations that others often don’t even notice. They are intimidating and uncanny, ale to see things with seemingly supernatural ability, an ability they take for granted as second nature.  And of course there is always the premonitory relationship between owls and events, they nearly always show up before something crazy happens (for those with Owl Medicine that is). They are messengers, the bird earthy version of Mercury running messengers from the abyss to us ordinary weirdos attuned to their frequency.

So HOORAY for Owls! They are wise birds for wise, preternaturally observant folks.

Best wishes,

Denise

Owl Medicine…

13 thoughts on “Owl Medicine…

  1. Lenora says:

    Funny, now that you mention it, I saw an owl on Monday. He was quite close – less than 10 feet away, therefore, easy to identify as an owl and not some other bird. I don’t think I’ve ever been that close to one outside a zoo before. The next day, an earthquake hits Haiti. Interesting thought…

  2. sara says:

    Interesting , owl visited me in a dream last week the time I have ever had one in my dreams as that I can remember in my 45+ years of this earth walk.

    I , also have seen her fly by at night in the last couple of weeks. Sure enough, someone was trying to pull a fast one on me. I had another dream before the owl appeared with a showing strong arming being used. So, when it happen I was well prepared to deal with it…lol!

  3. sara says:

    Interesting , owl visited me in a dream last week the first time I have ever had one in my dreams as that I can remember in my 45+ years of this earth walk.

    I , also have seen her fly by at night in the last couple of weeks. Sure enough, someone was trying to pull a fast one on me. I had another dream before the owl appeared with a showing strong arming being used. So, when it happen I was well prepared to deal with it…lol!

  4. L says:

    I had just finished an errand, walked outside, when an owl flew right into the wall above me. It fell to the porch. I walked over to see if it was OK. I was about 4 feet from it. It laid there with it’s wings sprawled out. I wasn’t sure what to do. Suddenly it sat up, and turn his head almost completely around to stare at me. We stood there staring at each other for about a minute. People from inside of the place saw us, and came out. The owl flew up to the top of the tree across from us. I left, but could not help thinking about the owl. Yes, I am a person, that wonders why things happen. Perhaps, I will find out in the near future. Maybe, this is a good sign. Thank you, Owl for your mystery.

  5. One morning I was walking around a track and saw an owl sitting on fence waiting on me. When I noticed, the owl’s head was turned completely backwards looking right at me and our eyes connected as if he was looking through me. It was calming. WHat does that mean? I felt there was a message but not sure what it is. How can I find out?

  6. Lauren says:

    I’ve always been told I’m very spiritually advanced for a 17 year old, well about a month ago I was meditating to try and come in contact with my animal guide. Well it wasn’t going too well and I was having a hard time focusing and letting the animal come to ME. Scolding myself, I sat down in the middle of a dirt path way. I noticed a giant tree about 20 feet away, also in the middle of the path, and looked up. On the right side of the tree there was an owl perched on the lowest branch watching me with an almost amused but observant expression. I remember thinking thats my guide just before I opened my eyes. I recently got an owl necklace and have been seeing many owls since. I feel more intouch with my third eye and myself in general. I know my owl is watching over me and guiding me with the knowledge I need most, to help me through this journey (:

  7. Debbie says:

    A few days after my daughter passed away I dreamt that a large white owl flew into me. It didn’t fly next to me or above me…….no…directly into me! I was not scared, just surprised/shocked that it seemed to come from nowhere, and that it was so real. It made me wake up with a jump. That was a month ago and I still remember it clearly, and I am still confused about what happened. If anyone could help me understand I would really appreciate it.

  8. Thomas says:

    I see owls all over the place, and there’s this Pygmy Owl I’ve seen several times just outside my bedroom window. I hear the Pygmy Owls every night hooting, when I walk my dog.

    It’s a long story, but in the jungles of Northern Guatemala, where I was driving by myself in an old VW camper bus trying to find these remote Mayan ruins, I had a very creepy, and mystical experience that ended with a very large owl running right into the front of my van.

    1. Thomas says:

      Tonight as I was walking my dog Spirit (I got her from the Humane Society with that name), a Pygmy Owl flew right by my shoulder as I was walking down a path. It was on a branch next to the path, and took off when I got really close to it. Before that a bat flew right by my head, and I tilted my head as it flew past. Also my neighbor gave me a Ginkgo Biloba tree, so I will have to look up the significance of that.

      1. Thomas says:

        Just as I was walking back to my house with Spirit, a Pygmy Owl took off near my truck carrying something. It might have been a small field mouse. I could also hear two Owls calling nearby in the trees.

        There’s a really loud Mexican band playing someplace in the valley tonight, and hearing that music made me homesick for my old winter home in Mexico.

  9. We were driving to the fair yesterday when we saw a hawk with a rat in the middle of the road. He literally used our front tire as a springing board to take off 180 from us. I never saw a hawk do that before.

    1. Thomas says:

      I’ve been thinking about 180 a lot lately, but it’s such a complex subject.

      I remember many past lives, and I have a soul friend named Yarrow that brought back some really nice memories of being a hawk. There’s nothing more beautiful than seeing a soul partner through the eyes of a hawk.

      I’ve been seeing a little grey fox on my nightly walks.

Leave a Reply

